Monroe: What the Toledo Walleye’s “season-ending roster” means

The Toledo Walleye released their “season-ending roster” earlier this afternoon, and the Toledo Blade’s Mark Monroe explains what exactly that means:

The Toledo Walleye announced today their season-ending roster, a list of players that the team now has exclusive rights to sign.

Every ECHL team must submit a season-ending roster, which may include up to 20 players but can’t include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2017-18.

ECHL teams are entitled to reserve the rights to a maximum of eight players from the list by extending a qualifying offer no later than June 30.

There 19 players on the Walleye’s protected list.

The 12 forwards are Alden Hirschfeld, A.J. Jenks, Tyler Barnes, Kyle Bonis, Colin Jacobs, Charlie O’Connor, Christian Hilbrich, Shane Berschbach, Connor Crisp, Mike Embach, Austen Brassard, and Dane Walters.

The seven defensemen are Beau Schmitz, Trevor Hamilton, Parker Reno, Ryan Obuchowski, Kevin Lohan, Simon Denis, and Jamie Doornbosch.

Toledo’s list does not include players who were under contract with the Walleye’s American Hockey League affiliate, Grand Rapids, last season. Those players include goalie Pat Nagle, forwards Mike Borkowski, Dylan Sadowy, and Zach Nastasiuk, and defensemen Kevin Tansey and Patrick McCarron.

Update: FYI:

Published by

George Malik

My name is George Malik, and I'm the Malik Report's editor/blogger/poster. I have been blogging about the Red Wings since 2006, when MLive hired me to work their SlapShots blog, and I joined Kukla's Korner in 2011 as The Malik Report. I'm starting The Malik Report as a stand-alone site, hoping that having my readers fund the website is indeed the way to go to build a better community and create better content.